Because I can’t draw…

I am in awe of anyone who can pick up a pencil and a piece of paper and without any apparent effort turn out something that is anywhere near recognizable.  Even though I watched all those John Gnagy “Learn to Draw” lessons on TV at an impressionable age, I was apparently not impressionable enough.

So I occasionally indulge myself by playing with some of the tools in Photoshop that let you turn a photograph into something that looks like a drawing.  Usually I don’t do this with a really good photograph, because why would you?  Sometimes I try to salvage a so-so shot that I’ve become unreasonably attached to.  Or there’s a shot that’s really unremarkable but looks like it might become a good learning opportunity for one particular tool or another.  The image below is one of the latter.  And yes, it really did start life as a photograph.

smoke bush - colored pencil

~ by Shelly F. Cohen on 5 August 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
