Outstanding in its field

On Salt Spring Island this summer, I went out one evening to chase the sunset.  We were staying near the east side of the island, so I had to make my way to Vesuvius on the west side.  I wound up taking the long way around, which left me a little bit worried that by the time I got there not only would I have missed the sunset but it would be pitch dark.  (This is not a place with a lot of streetlights…)

On the way, I passed this hillside field with a lone red tree standing out sharply against the green background and the sere yellow grass.  Lovely!

This actually turned out better than the sunset photos at Vesuvius.  When will I learn that shooting directly into the sun is a bad idea?

tree

~ by Shelly F. Cohen on 6 October 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
